Centre for the Study of European Contract Law

Staff

Management

Prof. Martijn W. Hesselink is Director of the CSECL. He is assisted by Deputy Director Dr Marija Bartl and Management Assistant Yvonne ter Horst MA.

Organisation

The CSECL's research is focused on three specific themes:

  • EU private law integration and its effects on national private laws, led by Prof. Marco B.M. Loos and Prof. Aukje A.H. van Hoek
  • Property, Publicity, Priority, led by Prof. Arthur F. Salomons and Prof. Rolef J. de Weijs
  • The legitimacy of postnational private law, led by Prof. Martijn W. Hesselink and Prof. Chantal Mak

The CSECL is made up of talented researchers from the UvA private law department. CSECL researchers enjoy additional research time, opportunities for tenure track positions and the autonomy to creatively develop their own research agendas.  As long as they meet publication requirements, CSECL researchers may develop their own projects and papers, organise conference, edit volumes and work with institutions.

CSECL PhD Candidates spend time at a foreign university, often Harvard, Columbia, NYU or the MPI in Hamburg and are encouraged to develop research profiles distinct from their supervisors / research leaders.

The CSECL supports both the research of its staff and PhD candidates through weekly meetings and participation in the Ius Commune research school.

CSELC staff

Research theme 1: The EU legal space and its interactions with national and international private laws (directed by Aukje van Hoek and Marco Loos)

  • prof. dr. H. Beale

    Limitation of Actions, Unfair Terms in Contracts and Company Security Interests

    H.Beale@uva.nl |

    Go to detailpage
  • prof. dr. A.A.H. (Aukje) van Hoek

    Private International Law and Civil Procedure

    a.a.h.vanhoek@uva.nl | T: 0205253519

    Go to detailpage
  • mr. M. (Mia) Junuzovic LLM

    European guidelines on transparency of online disclosures

    M.Junuzovic@uva.nl |

    Go to detailpage
  • prof. dr. J.S. (Jeroen) Kortmann

    European tort law

    J.S.Kortmann@uva.nl |

    Go to detailpage
  • Ms C. (Candida) Leone LLM

    Unfair terms in labour contracts

    C.Leone@uva.nl | T: 0205255565

    Go to detailpage
  • prof. dr. M.B.M. (Marco) Loos

    Contract law, consumer law and European private law

    M.B.M.Loos@uva.nl | T: 0205253423

    Go to detailpage
  • mr. dr. E. (Eveline) Ramaekers

    EU property law, comparative private law and private international law

    E.Ramaekers@uva.nl |

    Go to detailpage
  • prof. dr. R. (Reinhard) Steennot

    The protection which the Court of Justice offers to the consumer

    R.Steennot@uva.nl |

    Go to detailpage
  • mr. S. (Sacha) Tamboer

    De klachtplicht bij non-conformiteit

    S.Tamboer@uva.nl | T: 0205252468

    Go to detailpage

Research theme 2: Property, publicity, priority (directed by Arthur Salomons and Rolef de Weijs)

  • mr. S. (Selma) de Groot

    The interplay between the security transfer and the right of pledge

    S.deGroot@uva.nl | T: 0205252945

    Go to detailpage
  • Ms K.R. (Karoline) Haug LLM

    Transfer of ownership, Scandinavian functional approach, European harmonisation

    K.R.Haug@uva.nl | T: 0205253519

    Go to detailpage
  • Mr A.L. (Aart) Jonkers LLM

    Opportunism in guarantee contracts

    A.L.Jonkers@uva.nl | T: 0205253402

    Go to detailpage
  • prof. dr. A.F. (Arthur) Salomons

    Dutch and European property law

    A.F.Salomons@uva.nl | T: 0205253489

    Go to detailpage
  • prof. dr. A. (Anna) Veneziano

    International and European Contract and Sales Law as well as Secured Transactions Law

    A.Veneziano@uva.nl |

    Go to detailpage
  • prof. dr. R.J. (Rolef) de Weijs

    European Property Law and Insolvency Law

    R.J.deWeijs@uva.nl | T: 0205253795

    Go to detailpage

Research theme 3: The legitimacy of postnational private law (directed by Martijn Hesselink and Chantal Mak)

  • dr. M. (Marija) Bartl

    Legitimacy in postnational constellations; the ‘market-re-embedding’ role of private law in the postnational setting, and its link to the democracy in private law debate; the constitutional aspects of (European) private law

    M.Bartl@uva.nl | T: 0205253871

    Go to detailpage
  • mr. N.J. (Nik) de Boer LLM

    Democratic legitimacy of judicial resistance by national constitutional courts to European integration

    N.J.deBoer@uva.nl | T: 0205252973

    Go to detailpage
  • Ms L.E. (Laura) Burgers LLM

    Democratic legitimacy of judge-made law on remedies in European private law

    L.E.Burgers@uva.nl | T: 0205254137

    Go to detailpage
  • Ms J.M.L. (Anna) van Duin LLM

    Developing practical guidelines for realising effective judicial protection of private parties’ rights in the interplay of EU law and national private law

    J.M.L.vanDuin@uva.nl | T: 0205258385

    Go to detailpage
  • prof. dr. M.W. (Martijn) Hesselink

    European private law, private law theory and legal methodology

    M.W.Hesselink@uva.nl | T: 0205253569

    Go to detailpage
  • Ms M.S. (Mirthe) Jiwa MA

    The notion of personality in European private law

    M.S.Jiwa@uva.nl |

    Go to detailpage
  • prof. dr. C. (Chantal) Mak

    European contract law, the constitutionalisation of this field of law and the role of the judiciary in the harmonisation process

    C.Mak@uva.nl | T: 0205253474

    Go to detailpage
  • dr. A.E. (Marieke) Oderkerk

    General theory and methodology of comparative law, international family law

    A.E.Oderkerk@uva.nl | T: 0205253404

    Go to detailpage
  • dr. L.K.L. (Lyn) Tjon Soei Len

    Theoretical questions concerning the relationship between theories of justice and contract (private) law and questions concerning private autonomy and postnational lawmaking

    L.K.L.TjonSoeiLen@uva.nl | T: 0205253134

    Go to detailpage
  • Ms I.J. (Isabel) Verkes LLM

    The impact of peer-to-peer lending and web-based finance platforms from a perspective of private law theory

    I.J.Verkes@uva.nl |

    Go to detailpage

Published by  CSECL

21 December 2016